Lets Talk Hall of Fame for a Second…

The 2013 Hall of Fame vote came out and as we know, nobody got in. This puzzles most fans of baseball as to why the 7-time CY Young Award winner and the all time home run king didn’t get more than 40% of the BBWAA votes. They now have fourteen years of eligibility left to get into the HOF and as one can assume, they will get in. As will Houston Astro Craig Biggio, and eventually Mike Piazza and Curt Shilling as well. As for players like Jeff Bagwell, Larry Walker, Tim Raines, and Lee Smith, though some deserving, might not get as lucky.

Lets talk about the 2014 Hall of Fame ballot; Greg Maddux, Mike Mussina, Frank Thomas, Tom Glavine, Jeff Kent, and Luis Gonzalez will be on the ballot for the first time and I am pretty sure we can make assumptions as to who will be voted in. Maddux, Mussina, Thomas and Glavine will for sure imgresearn 75% of the vote but as for the second base all time leader in home runs, Jeff Kent, will have to wait a few years. Kent is for sure in the same class as Biggio when it comes to HOF possibilities, but I am sorry to say that Luis Gonzales, a career .283 avg with 2,500 hits, although a great player, just doesn’t cut it.When you take the history of the Hall of Fame you see recurring trends in voting. Two of the best players of all time are not going to “first ballot” Hall of Famers but lets look at all the other incredible players who weren’t first ballot either:

  • Jimmie Foxx, 7 years on the ballot
  • Hank Greenberg, 9
  • Rogers Hornsby, 5
  • Eddie Mathews, 5
  • Harmon Killabrew, 4

Shame on the voters for making Duke Snider and Joe Dimaggio wait that long to get in the hall. But, that is the nature of the

imgres-1beast in this incredibly biased, judge and jury, way of voting that has perpetuated from the crop of BBWAA voters.

Oh, and one more thing. I want us to take a look at Kenny Lofton:

Lofton is one of six players in history to have 100 home runs and 600 stolen bases and four of the other five were first-ballot Hall of Famers (Ty Cobb, imgres-2Lou Brock, Joe Morgan and Rickey Henderson), and Tim Raines, another guy who should be in the Hall, is the other. While Lofton might not be the offensive equal to any of those guys, he was an underrated offensive player and a stellar defensive center fielder.

I’m not saying he’s a Hall of Famer. The case is close and if he never got in, it wouldn’t be an injustice, but it should be considered for more than just this year. The injustice here is that he received just 3.2 percent of the vote and is now off the ballot.

If you’re going to penalize “steroid guys” for inflated numbers, then you can’t penalize those who didn’t post inflated numbers. The voters can’t have it both ways.

But, of course, being judge and jury, the writers have the final say.